Can you substitute smoked paprika for paprika?

The short answer is yes. If you want the same flavor as smoked paprika however, add a 1:3 ratio of paprika with cumin. So that would be 1tsp paprika to 1/3 tsp cumin powder. You can also substitute paprika with other smoked herbs or spices.