When was the original movie a star is born?

A Star Is Born is a 1937 romantic drama film produced by David O. Selznick, directed by William A. Wellman from a script by Wellman, Robert Carson, Dorothy Parker, and Alan Campbell, starring Janet Gaynor, an aspiring actress, and Fredric March, as a fading movie star, who helps launch her career.