Why did ellen barkin leave animal kingdom?

Her character, Janine Smurf Cody, was suffering from cancer and was shot dead by her grandson J, after she failed a suicide attempt. There was no animosity between the cast, it was just part of the story line. Ellen knew about her death in the show at the beginning of the season.