How do you abbreviate transportation?

It D.O.T. stands for the Department of Transportation, therefore the "T" alone stands for transportation. However, if you wrote that, it is unlikely that anyone would understand you. Try "t. r. a. n." or "t. r. a. n. s." for a suitable abbreviation.