Is california a sanctuary state?

Yes, On October 5, 2017, Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill, California Sanctuary Law SB54, that makes California a "sanctuary state". It prohibits local and state agencies from cooperating with ICE regarding illegal criminals who have committed misdemeanors