Are baking soda and baking powder the same thing?

Baking soda and baking powder are both leavening agents, meaning they’ll make your baked goods ‘rise.’ Baking powder actually contains some baking soda, but they aren’t used exactly the same way. Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate.