What's a hoagie sandwich?

Webster's Dictionary defines Hoagie as a large sandwich on a long crusty roll that is split lengthwise and filled with meats and cheese (and tomato and onion and lettuce and condiments); different names are used in different sections of the U. S., such as hero, grinder, and submarine.

---

A submarine sandwich, also known as a sub, hoagie, hero, or grinder, is a type of sandwich consisting of a length of bread or roll split lengthwise and filled with a variety of meats, cheeses, vegetables, and condiments.