Do you pay taxes on alimony?

For federal taxes, if you pay alimony you can deduct it from your taxable income, and if you receive alimony you must add it to your taxable income.

---

In the US, the person who pays the alimony cannot deduct it from their taxes, so they pay taxes on it; the person who receives the alimony does not have to report it or pay income tax on it.