How fast do earthquake waves travel?

The rupture speed of most earthquakes tops out around 5,600 to 6,700 mph (9,000 to 10,800 kilometers per hour) which is slower than the speed at which seismic shear waves (one type of seismic wave generated by an earthquake) emanate from the epicenter of the quake