When did rangers die?

Rangers Football Club Born 1872, died 2012. SIR DAVID MURRAY: Sold the football club to Whyte for £1. FORMER Rangers chairman Sir David Murray and current owner Craig Whyte face investigation into the financial meltdown that led to the club's demise.