What does it mean if you dream that you're drowning?

Drowning dreams seem to be related to the feeling of being physically overwhelmed, emotionally overwhelmed or struggling to be yourself. Drowning in dreams metaphorically reflects when or if you will overcome the personal issue or issues you are dealing with during your waking hours..