How is metamorphic rock?

Metamorphic rocks started out as some other type of rock, but have been substantially changed from their original igneous, sedimentary, or earlier metamorphic form. They form when rocks are subjected to high heat, high pressure, hot mineral-rich fluids or some combination of these factors.

---

Metamorphic rocks are caused by heat, usually from volcanoes!