What does liver taste like?

it depends a great deal on which animal it comes from and how mature the animal was before it was sacrificed. A more mature animal has a more intense taste. There is a sense of minerality in the flavor. Bird livers are less intense than mammal livers; some fish livers are very strongly flavored.