Why isn't egg roll called an egg roll?

One theory is that there is egg in the batter for the wrappers, and another theory is that you brush egg on the wrapper while you roll the egg roll to seal it.

---

No one is quite sure how the egg roll got its name, as they don't typically contain egg. The Washington Post speculated in 1979 that it may be a mistranslation due to the Chinese words for "egg" and "spring" sounding similar, but this theory is not widely accepted.