Why isn't egg roll called an egg roll?

No one is quite sure how the egg roll got its name, as they don't typically contain egg. The Washington Post speculated in 1979 that it may be a mistranslation due to the Chinese words for "egg" and "spring" sounding similar, but this theory is not widely accepted.