What is the molecular structure of transparent aluminum?

Transparent aluminum, also known as aluminum oxynitride, is a transparent polycrystalline ceramic with a cubic spinel crystal structure made of nitrogen, oxygen and aluminum. It is optically transparent in the near-ultraviolet, visible and infrared regions.