What ended the korean war?

South Korea was backed by the US, and the north by China, who depended on the soviets. On early 1953, US President Eisenhower took office, and Soviet leader Stalin died. Both Eisenhower and the new soviet leaders had no desire to continue supporting the war, and on July 17, an armistice was signed.