What is the origin of the name evelyn?

Evelyn is a given name in the English language, where it can be used as a first name or a surname. The name originally was used as a surname, which derived from Aveline, a feminine Norman French diminutive of the name Ava. Ava itself is a hypocoristic Germanic name, of uncertain origin.