Who created peanut butter and jelly sandwich?

Initially a fancy-pants sandwich, the invention of sliced bread in the 1920s helped prompt its migration to an everyday staple. "The first located reference to the now immortal peanut butter and jelly sandwich was published by Julia Davis Chandler in 1901

---

Most accounts date the PB&J to the early 1900s. According to the Mark Williams book, “The Story Behind the Dish: Classic American Foods,“ a woman by the name of Julia Davis Chandler published the first recipe of a sandwich that combined peanut butter and jelly in 1901.