Where does sherpa come from?

A Sherpa is a member of a Tibetan people living on the high southern slopes of the Himalayas in Nepal. They are known for supporting foreign trekkers & climbers. The term derives from the Sherpa language: shar ("east") and པ pa ("people"), per their geographical origin in eastern Tibet