Why was the spanish-american war fought?

The Spanish American War was an 1898 conflict where the United States intervened in the war of independence of Cuba and other nations from Spain. The sinking of the USS Maine was the official reason for entering the war. The war quickly ended resulting in events such as the Phillipine Insurrection.