What year did j. r. r. tolkien write the lord of the rings?

The Lord of the Rings was published between 1954 and 1955, but Tolkien took more than ten years to write it, and its publication was delayed. It was originally intended to be a sequel to The Hobbit, which was published in 1937, but the story grew more serious and more adult as he wrote it.