Why is there a static electricity day?

It may be a little shocking, but National Static Electricity Day is observed each year on January 9. The observance explores static electricity and how we may cause it. Celebrate the day by avoiding static electricity, or enjoy it by rubbing balloons on your head and sticking them to walls.