What causes hiccups in babies?

Hiccups happen when something causes the diaphragm to spasm, and the vocal cords quickly shut. Air is forced out through the closed vocal chords, creating the hiccupping sound. ... Hiccups in babies tend to occur for no apparent reason, but feeding can occasionally cause the diaphragm to spasm.