Why are crabs red?

he dramatic color change during cooking has to do with the way certain biochemicals inside the shellfish react to heat. Lobsters and crabs have a pigment called astaxanthin in their shells. Astaxanthin is a carotenoid pigment: absorbing blue light and appearing red, orange or yellow in color.

---

Once you put a crab or a prawn in a pot of boiling water or on a grill, heat destroys the crustacyanin protein