Who invented the meatball sub?

Meatballs were invented by Chef August Petitchien sometime around the early 1400's, and initially served in an "Italian-style" tomato sauce called "wolf-peach sauce", poured over the meat and served on a toasted baguette...but the modern version is from the northeastern states and from Italy.