How long does it take tomatoes to grow?

From sprouts to full grown plants producing tomatoes takes about four months with the temperature above seventy degrees F.

---

Tomato plants typically need to be started from seed in February, then planted outdoors after danger from frost is past, about mid-May. The fruit will ripen around the end of August. Cherry tomatoes ripen quicker than larger tomatoes. Some kinds continue to bear fruit until frost.