What is snail plasma?

Snail plasma is a slime produced by sea snails used to move about. Sometimes, it is required to inject some into a sick snail, but if injected into a being other than a snail, they will turn into a snail, albeit only temporarily. It appears in the episode "I Was a Teenage Gary."