What was chernobyl?

The Chernobyl disaster was a nuclear accident that occurred on 26 April 1986 at the number 4 reactor in the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, near the city of Pripyat in the north of the Ukrainian Soviet socialist republic in the Soviet Union.

---

The Chernobyl disaster was a nuclear accident that occurred on April 26, 1986. A sudden surge of power during a reactor systems test destroyed Unit 4 of the nuclear power station and released massive amounts of radioactive material into the environment.