What happened in the nineteen century?

Here are a few things that happened in the 19th century: 1867: The United States purchased Alaska from Russia. 1867: Canadian Confederation formed. 1869: First Transcontinental Railroad completed in United States. 1869: The Suez Canal opens linking the Mediterranean to the Red Sea.