Who was herb philbrick?

Herbert Philbrick was a counterspy for the FBI in the 1940s, funneling information about Communist Party USA activities and eventually testifying against party leadership. Philbrick's autobiographical book, "I Led 3 Lives" was a best-seller and inspired a 1950s TV series of the same name.