Can cork go in the microwave?

Yes, cork can go in the microwave. But, it will likely change the shape of the cork, expanding the size if the cork contained water or liquid. Soaking a cork in water and then exposing to microwave causes the water to dissipate and the cork material to expand by up to 85%.