What is the endoplasmic reticulum do in a cell?

The Endoplasmic reticulum is a continuous membrane system that forms a series of flattened sacs within the cytoplasm of eukaryotic cells and serves multiple functions such as aiding in the synthesis, folding, modification, and transport of proteins.