Why are diapers called diapers?

Both the architectural and the clothing diaper come from the same archaic word meaning "patterned or textured cloth." The word finds its etymology in the prefix "dia" meaning "thoroughly," and the root "aspros" meaning "rough" or "white." No relation to "diaspora," which uses the root "speirein."