What is air force one called when the president is not on board?

Air Force One is the designation of any Air Force operated aircraft carrying the President of the United States. The two Boeing 747 aircraft that are most commonly used are called by their aircraft tail numbers, which are 28000 and 29000. The Air Force designation is VC-25A.