What is catcher in a ride?

“Catcher In The Rye” is a novel written by J.D. Salinger in 1951. It was banned in 1978, but by 1981 became not only the most censored book, but the 2nd most taught book in the U.S. The book centered around angst and alienation and as a critique on superficiality in society.