What is the humble squid?

I don't know about the humble squid, but the Humboldt squid ( Dosidicus gigas ), also known as jumbo squid, jumbo flying squid, pota, or diablo rojo (red devil), is a large, predatory squid living in the waters of the Humboldt Current in the eastern Pacific Ocean.