Why do jumping beans jump?

Jumping beans do not actually jump, rather they wiggle. The wiggling is caused by Moth larvae laid inside the plant.

---

Jumping beans jump because a moth laid her eggs in the flower that produced the bean. The moth larvae eat the center of the bean as it grows. When the larvae moves around inside the bean, the bean also moves. Jumping beans don't actually jump, they really just wiggle a little.