Why do jumping beans jump?

Jumping beans jump because a moth laid her eggs in the flower that produced the bean. The moth larvae eat the center of the bean as it grows. When the larvae moves around inside the bean, the bean also moves. Jumping beans don't actually jump, they really just wiggle a little.