Where do pumpkins come from?

Pumpkins grow from seeds planted in the ground. They grow on flowering vines that crawl along the ground. Their exact geographical origin is unclear, but they are generally thought to be from the Americas, particularly North America, Mexico, and Central America.

---

Scientists believe that pumpkins originated in North America about 9000 years ago. The oldest pumpkin seeds have been found in Mexico and date back to somewhere between 7000-5550 B.C.. Pumpkins (along with other forms of squash) were a historically important food staple among Native Americans.