Why is a french fry called a french fry?

Frites spread to America where they were called French fried potatoes. You asked how they got their name--pretty obvious, I'd say: they came from France, and they were fried potatoes, so they were called "French friedpotatoes." The name was shortened to "french fries" in the 1930s