What is the lighten frost effect?

The Leidenfrost effect describes a phenomenon where a liquid heated past its boiling point doesn't evaporate, but rather silently glides on the surface of whatever it's resting on. This happens because steam is produced so quickly that it forms an insulating layer between the liquid and the surface.