Where does don't tread on me come from?

Don’t tread on me began on the Gadsden flag, which features a rattlesnake coiled above the expression. The flag was first flown on a warship in 1775 as a battle cry for American independence from British rule. It’s credited to Christopher Gadsden, a soldier and politician from South Carolina.