Why are some jalapenos hotter than others?

All peppers in the capiscum family contain capsaicin, which makes them 'hot' to varying degrees. Even bell peppers have a trace amount of capsicin, which is too minute to taste. When a pepper plant is not watered a great deal the resulting peppers will taste hotter.