What's the difference between england and britain?

The official name of the U.K. is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The U.K. is a nation-state composed of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Great Britain is the physical landmass that's home to three of those countries: England, Scotland and Wales