What's the difference between coconut sugar and regular sugar?

According to Healthline, doctors recommend treating coconut sugar the same as one would regular sugar, since it has a comparable amount of calories and carbohydrates and its glycemic index is around 50 – 54, which is about the same as cane sugar.