What's an atom bomb?

An atom bomb releases energy as the result of splitting or fission of the core of uranium or plutonium atoms.

---

An atom bomb, or nuclear weapon, is an explosive device that derives its destructive force from nuclear reactions, either fission or a combination of fission and fusion reactions