How was marilyn monroe discovered?

When her husband was sent to the South Pacific, she began working in a munitions factory in Van Nuys, California. It was there that she was discovered by a photographer. By the time Dougherty returned in 1946, Monroe had a successful career as a model. That year, she signed her first movie contract.