What kind of food is a canopy?

Canapés are small, appetizer-sized bites of food, usually with bread or a cracker on the bottom and a decorative garnish on the top. You can distinguish canapés from other appetizers because they are meant to be eaten neatly with the fingers, while many other appetizers require a fork or toothpick.