Why do we talk to animals?

Anthrozoologist and professor of psychology at Western Carolina University Hal Herzog told The Atlantic: "Talking to our pets is absolutely natural. Human beings are natural anthropomorphizers, meaning we naturally tend to [ascribe] all kinds of thoughts and meanings to other things in our lives."