What's the life expectancy of a house?

The life expectancy of a building's “vital” organs is varied2: kitchens, bathroom appliances, paintwork and floor coverings normally last between ten and fifteen years; pipes, windows and flat roofs 30 years and the basic structure (concrete or bricks) – the actual shell – between 70 and 100 years.