What happens when you blackout?

Blackout usually means to pass out or lose consciousness. It happens when something causes oxygen or nutrients to stop flowing to your brain. To protect you, the body falls to the ground allowing blood to better reach the brain and prevent permanent damage. The event ends when the brain recovers.